January 20th, 2010

Gorillaz.com major update

Commander Corn was the first to send the news (and thanks to everyone else who sent this one in as well!) that Gorillaz.com has had a major update.

There are three short videos available to view, each with new Gorillaz music as the background music. More will be added over the coming days in a regular schedule. There is also a countdown to Monday 22 February, and a map presumably showing the location of Plastic Beach, off the coast of Africa, with a route marked out from London. The whole design of the page has also had a revamp as well.

Check it out on gorillaz.com now!

Read more...Collapse )

official Plastic Beach tracklist, collaborators, release date, artwork / listen to Stylo / Q mag

UPDATE 10:19AM GMT 21/01/10:- The official (direct from Gorillaz' management) press release for the album can now be read in full. Click 'Read More' below to read it. A key point not revealed by other sites last night is that Gorillaz will have a cover feature in the music magazine Q next month.

Thanks to the several people who sent this news item in (special mention to ovjeff, lkztadeu, andyanzora, cdsblog, Cara, Amaya92, Droid and an anonymous person!):-

Firstly, the official Plastic Beach tracklisting has now been announced, as confirmed by the NME. (see the article here).

1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg and HypnoticBrass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy and The National Orchestra For ArabicMusic)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet

Secondly here is the official artwork for Plastic Beach and Stylo, as confirmed by the press release and live now on many sites:-

It is officially confirmed that Plastic Beach will be released on March 8 in the UK and March 9 in the USA. Stylo will be available as a paid legal download from 25 January in the UK and 26 January in the USA.

Secondly, Gorillaz have uploaded Stylo to their official Youtube account and you can listen to it on Youtube right now completely legally (!) by clicking here

Read more...Collapse )